Uncategorized

Worship

Being here, away from corporate worship, has been challenging.  It’s been a struggle.  It’s just been hard.  I’d like to say I’ve handled it well, with grace and openness.  But, honestly, I haven’t. I’ve held on to this image in my mind of what it is supposed to look like.  Of this cookie cutter formula with music, announcements, socialness filled with hugs, and preaching.  I miss all that.  Especially the hugs.  Oh how I miss hugs so numerous I lost count.

This week, I was given a gift.  Intangible, but wow.  You see, I’ve been reading through the Word chronologically, thinking that it would be awesome.  It has been good, but I was missing instruction, and frankly, there were times when I got bored and forgot to pay attention to what I was reading.  So, in addition to that, I started a devotional on prayer.  It has changed me.  I got this journal from a sweet friend before I left and decided to put it to use.  The first half is scripture by topic.  As I read, I record things that speak to me and arrange them by topic.  The other half is prayer.  I am still and quiet and He is faithful to burden my heart with people in need. I journal those prayers.  This morning, as I sat.  And sat.  And sat, nothing came up except to worship.  So I did.  In my heart I was singing 10,000 reasons, so I put in my earbuds and shut out the world and my heart was rocked to its core.

Whatever may pass and
Whatever lies before me
Let me be singing when the evening comes!

The days usually start well, but by the evening, I’m not singing anymore!  Life has stomped on me and spit me out by that time.  Not today, my friends.  This is my plea.  Let me be singing.
One thought on “Worship

Leave a Reply

