Recipes

Chicken Gyros

Thanks to Pinterest and really good recipes, we have a new favorite dinner.  Chicken Gyros!  The first time we made this, I actually made everything (the special cucumber sauce that is the bomb (seriously.  try it.) and I had all the veggies that went with it).  This time, we spent too much time opening a fun box that I didn’t have time for all that business.
 After class, I made the marinade using my super awesome Ulu cutter thing (google it) and my very sophisticated technique of jamming a fork into the lemon to juice it.  Flowers in the kitchen are really happy.  You should try that too.
I put all of the ingredients in a ziploc bag, added the chicken, and I was done for a few hours.  Cam grilled it when we were ready to eat.  The reccipe says to marinate the chicken for at least an hour…I did it for a good 5 hours and it was great!
I used the pita bread recipe from that link above, but didn’t take the time (again…we were busy and I didn’t want to be bothered with food prep) to do all the steps correctly.  I let it rise the first time, then rolled the dough out and let it sit until it was their turn in the oven.  I really have no idea what this is supposed to look like, but let me say.  It is good.  Prepare yourself to overindulge.
 Cam has this friend that makes great hummus (and all sorts of other middle eastern food), so Cam loves hummus now.  He brought home this can of garbanzo beans that he happened to find (a rare occurrance here) one day.  I’m pretty sure an army can eat from it…we froze half the beans hoping it will work out when we try to use them next.  So, while I was working on the pita bread, I googled a recipe for hummus without tahini (it’s called multitasking) and we (Cameron helped out) just started to add flavors.  It turned out fabulous!  We threw the beans in the blender with some olive oil, garlic cloves, lemon juice (we used enough to thin it out), cumin, and ground red pepper.  While I truly enjoyed it, I did exhale garlic fumes the rest of the evening…
 And this was the finished product.  Cam’s grilling talent (and grill of course!) were a big player in this meal, but I’m sure it would be just as great in the oven or a skillet. All in all, I think I spent an hour in the kitchen.  It wasn’t all at once, and it is so worth the effort because this really is a delicious meal that even the super picky children loved!
One thought on “Chicken Gyros

Leave a Reply

