Uncategorized

Gluten! How I miss thee.

Image

If you’ve known us for long, you know that Faith has issues with her tummy.  All sorts of issues that she has had most of her life.  Since we have moved here, her complaints have stepped up a notch and some new symptoms have appeared.  In light of this and lack of a doctor that I feel that I can trust and believe (not that there aren’t good doctors here…we have adequate medical care), we have decided to test things on our own.  So, for the next two weeks, Faith and I are cutting out gluten.  I naively thought that we don’t eat a ton of gluten as main parts of our meals, so really, I only had to give up the hot rolls, breadsticks, and desserts.

Yeah.  I was wrong.  And I have a new appreciation for my friend Cathy, who can’t eat gluten.

Image

There is gluten in everything!  And to make it even more challenging, Faith has decided she doesn’t care for eggs.  And we have to force her to eat her chicken.  She is pretty  much only eating rice and fruit, oranges to be exact, and those aren’t good for her acid reflux at all.  Since we live in a country that uses a language I can’t read, I am not at all able to read labels, and even if I could, they don’t have the kind of regulations America has that makes them be upfront and honest.  I have tried a few new recipes that make me crave bread stronger than ever.  The first was banana pancakes…using only bananas and eggs.  I should have known it wouldn’t be good, but I remembered the banana nut pancakes my Grandma makes, and thought that maybe, just maybe, they would taste like that.

Wrong.  I had to gag them down and Faith just scraped the syrup off the top…

Then, tonight, we had chicken gyros.  The best part of that meal is the naan bread.  I could eat my weight in it.  But, due to the flour it takes to make them, the meal had to go without.  So, I substituted the naan with a delectable (but I can think of a much better word) cauliflower bread.  It was pureed cauliflower mixed with eggs, salt and pepper.  Again, with those simple ingredients, I should have known.  They were, ummm…well, I couldn’t taste them if I piled on the jalapeno hummus super thick, but I wouldn’t want to just eat one with butter.  Ever.

3 days down, 11 to go.  Part of me wants her to be healed by cutting out gluten, and the other part of me doesn’t wish that on her at all.  I ordered some special ingredients that should blow the top off the possibilities for meals, so I am hopeful that we will get to eat some cake next week.  For my birthday.  Because life without cake isn’t really worth living…Image

One thought on “Gluten! How I miss thee.

  1. We tried those pancakes too – I really thought they would be good – I didn’t even like them – but I made everyone eat them anyway and promised I would not make those again – hahah

    Like

Leave a Reply

