Chronicles

Chronicles of China

CHAPTER 8

“I need to tell you something.  And Daddy.  And you have to be together.”  Ellie said.

My mind started to race and think back over everything she had said that day.  Did she get into trouble?  Did she break something?  Did she have a bad day at school?  My face must have been a mirror of the questions running through my heart in that moment of time because Ellie said,

Don’t worry.  It’s good.”

When had Ellie ever reassured me?  What could she need?

Cam came over, and I grabbed Ellie’s hand to offer her the emotional support that I needed so badly.  While she may only be six years old, I caught of glimpse of the future that is fast approaching of the day when she will have an announcement that will change the way life looks from the instant the words leave her mouth.  I met someone.  I’m getting married.  I’m going to college in New York.  I joined the army.  I am staying in China.  I’m pregnant.  So many statements that leave a lasting, forever kind of imprint on your life.  This one was no different.

I want to ask Jesus into my heart.”

Impact.  Forever changed.  The fear fled and 6 years of answered prayers came flooding over my soul.  The tears started to form in the recesses of my eyes as I willed them to stay put.  I didn’t want to miss a second.  I wanted this moment to forever be engraved on my heart.  As we began to ask her questions, her growth and understanding of scripture and of who Jesus is was so obvious when compared to what she knew just a few short months ago.  She said she wanted to follow Jesus because

“I love Him”

My hope and heart’s desire is that she never forgets this love she has.  That her knowledge will grow and her heart will remain pure for Him.  That she will cling tightly to the Father when the world lets her down and when we let her down.  That His love will forever be enough.  Enough to carry her through the joys of life, the sorrows of life, the every day living of life.  That this childhood faith that believes because her heart is full of love for the God who sacrificed His entire life’s breath for her, will always be the faith she holds on to.  That she won’t ever have doubts or disbelief that draw her away from the Father, but rather that she has crises of faith that drive her straight into His arms with deeper understanding and wisdom.

As she bowed her head and in her own words gave her life to Jesus, the tears started to fall.

May we all remember the simplicity of following Jesus because we love Him.

One thought on “Chronicles of China

Leave a Reply

