Uncategorized

Saturday Park Date

We haven’t been going out and exploring as much as we did when we first arrived here.  I think part of the reason is because we have just been feeling worn out and the other part is that the girls love hibernating in the house on weekends.  This weekend, however, we decided that we really needed to go out and find something fun to love.

park1We did exactly that!

We went to a park that we were told about…that we had unsuccessfully gone to before…to find an amusement park area.  It was like a little slice of Six Flags in the middle of a big, crowded city.  Come to think of it, that sounds just like Six Flags!

Park2

We told the girls they could choose 2 rides each.  The rides ranged from $1.75- $2.50 each per person.  It adds up pretty fast with 5 people!  However, somehow they got in a few more than the original agreed upon 2 rides…Park3

They all rode the swings together, thinking that they would be fun, but just like any other swing ride.

Chinese swings and American swings are not created equal.

These go MUCH higher and faster than the ones we’ve ridden before.  I’m sure they are just as safe though.  Surely.  Then, they all wanted to ride a roller coster that spun as it went around.  I think when the day was over, this ride came out as the favorite.  The next ride they chose was split up.  The bigger girls wanted to jump on the trampolines, but Ellie wanted to ride the ride that went around the park.  I offered to take her, knowing that it was powered by the rider pedaling.  What I didn’t know was that she would be too short to reach the pedals unless she hung her body off the seat.  The seat that she wasn’t actually strapped into and that was inside a car without doors on a track above the park.  I think my heart stayed in my throat the whole time.  At one point, I really thought we were going to fall off the track and die a horrific death that wouldn’t have been worth it at all.  I was SO glad when that was over and we could move on to MY favorite ride.  The CONQUISTADOR!!  This ride, at Six Flags, has always been one of my favorites!   The only thing was that this particular pirate ship went higher, faster, and much longer.  I realized I may be getting a little too old for this kind of stuff when I almost lost my lunch and stayed nauseous for the next hour.  Getting old may stink, but parks in China are still one of the best things about living in this country!Park4

One thought on “Saturday Park Date

Leave a Reply

