Uncategorized

Little bit of random

IMG_7667

Sometimes I get in the mood to make something fancy, something like, say, beignets.  I don’t know how to pronounce it correctly nor have I actually eaten them.  I wasn’t completely set up for success, but I had two of the cutest helpers and a free Saturday morning.  I got an itch to bake the night before, so I had the dough ready in the fridge, waiting to be rolled, cut, and fried.

Y’all.

Make them.  Make them for yourself, your neighbor, your mom.  Someone.  Just make them.  You won’t be sorry.

bible study

I also started this five week study with a foreigner friend that lives in my complex.  She is an 18 year old nanny, here just until August.  On our first session, I couldn’t go empty handed because it was a bible study.  Bible Studies all have sweets and coffee, right?!  It’s a good excuse for flavored coffee and sugar in my world anyway.  When I have “events” to bake for, I usually try a new recipe because my family really likes me to not try new things out on them.  These, however, they were all very willing to try!  They are baked churros that are rolled in cinnamon sugar while still hot.

Melt in your mouth.  Paired with Cafe Ole‘s “Houston” coffee, it can’t be beat!

MOVIE

I am blessed with friends who have kiddos in this city (there is even another!), so we all loaded up and went to see Home in 3d for a skipping-school-because-China-has-a-holiday morning.  The glasses were huge, the theater was boiling hot, but the friendships that are growing are a gift that I couldn’t be more thankful for!

Leave a Reply

