Parties

Nifty Fifties!

sockhop1In our city we have four families that all use the same curriculum and are on the same school timeline, so we meet together each week for a co-op.  The relationships that have grown from our time together have been evidence to Father’s faithfulness to my girls, and I am so grateful!  At the end of our most recent unit, we decided to throw a party to celebrate all that the kids had learned.  You know me and parties…I was beyond excited!sockhop3Each child chose a person they wanted to research and then presented their person to us through poster, speech, and/or poetry.  The whole “convincing my girls that they shouldn’t be scared to talk in front of their friends” thing was by far the hardest part of this celebration.  Public speaking is new and terrifying to them, which is what made this the perfect event to participate in!sockhop4Gracie gave a speech on the history of computers.  She did a great job writing her speech (the second attempt was great…the first not so much) and presenting it.  Good eye contact and interesting details.  I actually learned some things I never knew about these machines I am so dependent upon!

Ellie chose Rosa Parks and told us how she was significant to the Civil Rights movement using props to retell the story.  She may have added a few details that were more “Ellie” than fact, but I couldn’t have been more proud of the work she put into her project!

Faith researched John F. Kennedy and made some cool interactive parts to her poster to show his life.  She recited an emotional moving poem about his life that talked of how important he was to giving us all equal rights.  She memorized it and presented it with great confidence.  I think she was channeling her dream of one day being a performer!

scokhop2Faith has some great friends her age that make her feel loved and special.  These are some special guys in her life that are a direct answer to her prayer for real friends in China.  She told me not too long ago that she loves being here because she has so many friends!  I haven’t shared with many her struggles with living overseas, but she has had the hardest time of all my girls.  Her heart hasn’t been here until recently.  The day she told me she was thankful we are here brought tears to my eyes and an overwhelming peace in my heart that whispered, “I have this.  I love her more than you could ever imagine loving her.”sockhop5A Sock Hop isn’t a Sock Hop unless you wear full, fluffy skirts.  We scored some dresses online that weren’t at all what we expected but worked out perfectly, and I made my skirt quickly the night before because my online experience was a major fail.  Faith and Ellie borrowed some incredibly high heels from a local friend to complete their outfits and make their presentations more fun than scary.  It took a week of practice to be able to walk in a semi-normal way, though Ellie still looked a bit like a colt taking his first steps after birth.  Instant entertainment for all!sockhop6Our party had a Soda Shoppe complete with a Soda Jerk, homemade ice cream, and imported American sodas!!  The line was long and didn’t dwindle until the sodas were gone.  These American kiddos got a taste of home and couldn’t get enough!sockhop7Cupcakes, popcorn, leftover Valentine candy, and beautifully decorated sugar cookies (from my talented friend Katie) completed the sugar overload.sockhop9To burn off the energy and calories we all consumed, we danced to some rocking’ tunes from the 50s.  I think we all decided that it may be our favorite era of music!  We learned some sweet dance moves and all felt the soreness the day after from using muscles that aren’t used to moving like that!sockhop8And to complete the festivities…the Limbo!!  I remember when my body was bendy.  It isn’t anymore, but I sure enjoyed watching joy radiate from all the kiddos as they played!

The celebration party was a complete success and worth every drop of sweat and tears that went into making it happen.  These kids (and us mamas!) have worked hard this school year and to tangibly see the fruits of our efforts while watching our babies with the biggest smiles imaginable was priceless!

4 thoughts on “Nifty Fifties!

  1. Stephanie,
    That sounded so fun that I could hear y’alls laughter in my head. I would have loved to see it in person. I’m so glad that Faith has settled in her new life. I’m sooooo proud of you and Cameron for taking time with your girls to help them fit in. I know y’all have to hide your tears and sorrows from them sometimes so they can’t see your fears. You two are wonderful parents. I love all of you. Can’t wait to see you in August n

    Like

Leave a Reply

